True Grift

True Grift by Jack Bunker

A shrewd, darkly-funny, wildly unpredictable crime novel that evokes the very best of  Elmore Leonard, John Grisham, and Carl Hiaasen

A bankrupt lawyer and a greedy insurance adjuster concoct a personal injury scam involving a runaway grocery cart and recruit a half-wit golf course greenskeeper as their fall guy. But the plan goes horribly wrong, and as it spirals into a murderous fiasco, the grifters must deal with betrayals, shakedowns, bombs and mobsters to avoid prison… or worse, an early grave in a Southern California landfill.

Books by Jack Bunker

True Grift – Audiobook

True Grift – Audiobook

The audiobook edition of the novel, read by Harry Dyson

Go to Book

True Grift

True Grift

A bankrupt lawyer and a greedy insurance adjuster concoct a simple personal injury scam that goes violently wrong. It's a wild tale that's equal parts Elmore Leonard, John Grisham and Carl Hiaasen at their very best.

Go to Book

 
 
 


Reviews For True Grift

True Grift 5.0

TRUE GRIFT is a breezy page-turner that’s fun-filled and loaded with laughs from the jump. Donald Westlake fans will love this one.

Joseph Wambaugh, bestselling author of "The Blue Knight," "The New Centurions," and "The Onion Field"

True Grift 5.0

This caper novel is a fun, fast read, kind of like Elmore Leonard meets Donald Westlake, or the Golf Channel hosting a season of "Better Call Saul"

Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

True Grift 5.0

If crime paid, they say, it would attract smarter criminals. Jack Bunker's TRUE GRIFT is a rollicking misadventure that might deter anyone who's ever thought about making a quick buck off an insurance company. This first novel is perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard, Carl Hiaasen and Donald E. Westlake — which is to say, all smart readers.

--Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of The Fixer and Suspicion

True Grift 5.0

"True Grift" is a funny, fast-paced, ever-surprising hoot that belongs beside the finest schmoes-on-the-loose novels of Elmore Leonard.

Ron Hansen

True Grift 5.0

First-time author Jack Bunker displays an effortless, vivid writing style reminiscent of Elmore Leonard with the satirical spin of Carl Hiaasen. It’s hard to believe this is his first book. The dialogue is brisk, quick and witty, the situations outrageous but nonetheless believable, and the plotting air tight. The scam-gone-awry with murderous consequences may be hell for the shyster, but ‘True Grift’ is heaven for the readers.

Paul Levine, bestselling author of “Bum Rap”