The Come On

The Come On by Jim Cirni

A mob novel in the tradition of Elmore Leonard and George V. Higgins

Frank Fontana runs a Queens supper club that is neutral ground for mob families. Everything is good for Frank…until things get too good. He wins big at craps in Atlantic City, then wins even bigger in a private poker game, before he realizes that the games are rigged and he’s a patsy in a gambling swindle that’s put him in the middle of a underworld war…

Books by Jim Cirni

The Come On

The Come On

The owner of a Queens supper club popular with mobsters becomes the patsy in a gambling swindle that could spark an underworld war.

Go to Book

The Kiss Off

The Kiss Off

A bartender at a mob bar secretly witnesses a murder...and gets dragged by his wife into a outrageous scheme to blackmail the Godfather, a homicidal chocolate addict.

Go to Book

The Big Squeeze

The Big Squeeze

A low-level thug takes a bullet meant for the boss' kid and ends up on the fast-track to becoming a made man...if he isn't killed first in a mob war or by his girlfriend who wants him to go straight.

Go to Book

 
 
 


Reviews For The Come On

The Come On 5.0

Fontana's restaurant maintains a certain sleazy charm, and their spicy dialogue is as tasty as the calamari.

The New York Times

The Come On 5.0

Cleverly plotted and well-written.

Booklist

The Come On 5.0

A light-hearted, very funny glimpse into the underworld. LIvely, authentic dialogue and a breakneck pace make this a thoroughly enjoyable performance.

Publishers Weekly