The Sorcerer and The Assassin

The Sorcerer and The Assassin by Stephen OShea

A breath-taking new, medieval thriller in the tradition of The Name of the Rose and Game of Thrones by acclaimed historian Stephen O’Shea.
 
The year is 1242. Dominican inquisitors are traveling in France, persecuting and torturing suspected heretics. But then someone starts killing the Inquisitors….and whoever it is must be stopped before the fanatical Dominicans wreak their brutal revenge, provoking the people to rise in revolt against the French Crown for allowing the bloodshed. So the Crown sends Balian of Mallorca, a notorious alchemist/physician/polyglot who many believe to be a sorcerer, to Languedoc to solve the perplexing mystery. Along the way, Balian gains an unlikely partner in his investigations, a possibly clairvoyant noblewoman who disguises herself as a man…and they are plunged into a violent conspiracy of betrayal, deception, greed and lust that could cost them their lives…and spark a massacre.

Books by Stephen OShea

The Sorcerer and The Assassin

The Sorcerer and The Assassin

It's 1242. Dominican inquisitors are traveling in France, persecuting and torturing suspected heretics. But then someone starts killing the Inquisitors....and whoever it is must be stopped before the fanatical Dominicans wreak their brutal revenge. So the Crown sends Balian of Mallorca, a notorious alchemist/physician/polyglot who many believe to be a sorcerer, to Languedoc to solve the perplexing mystery.

Go to Book

 
 
 


Reviews For The Sorcerer and The Assassin

The Sorcerer and The Assassin 5.0

Historian O’Shea makes his fiction debut with a superior whodunit set in 1242.. O’Shea’s expertise about this period shines through on every page. Fans of Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose won’t want to miss this one.

Publishers Weekly STARRED Review

The Sorcerer and The Assassin 5.0

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this marvelous tale! You have found a treasure. It's a thrilling mystery filled with surprising twists and unspeakable evil that reaches an ingenious conclusion.

Charles Todd™, author of the Inspector Rutledge Mysteries and the Bess Crawford Mysteries

The Sorcerer and The Assassin 5.0

A gripping medieval detective story that pulls you into the horrors of the Inquisition. A compelling read featuring a fascinating team of investigators, twisting through a labyrinthine plot with their lives at stake.

Rick Mofina USA Today bestselling author

The Sorcerer and The Assassin 5.0

A fast-paced medieval mystery, featuring an intriguing detective with secrets of his own. The setting of Languedoc in the aftermath of the Cathar crusade and French invasion is one that is little known. Readers may be surprised to find that medieval life was as varied as ours today.

Sharan Newman, Medieval historian and Macavity Award winning author of the Catherine LeVendeur series set in 12th century France

The Sorcerer and The Assassin 5.0

Historical fiction completes the tapestry outlined by sterile names, places and dates; and Stephen O’Shea is a master weaver. A noted historian, he has created a fast-paced story with a vivid cast of characters. Somehow this tumultuous historical chapter from Europe in the 1200s seems remarkably relevant to our own turbulent times.

Marjorie G. Jones, author of "Frances Yates and the Hermetic Tradition"